Adding Eclipse Icon to Ubuntu 11.10 Unity launcher

Hello,

After having installed Ubuntu 11.10 (which I really enjoy btw, for its simplicity and nice UI), I installed Eclipse IDE to start coding :). I immediately noticed that the icon of Eclipse IDE was not loaded on the Unity Launcher. This was quit annoying as I wanted to select “Keep in Launcher” (option shown after doing a right click on the application icon on the Launcher)  and I didn’t like the nice looking icon with the question mark on it! So, after a bit of googling and  experimenting, I managed to create a Unity Launcher item for a custom application, which in my case was Eclipse IDE, and force Unity to use an icon specified by me in the Launcher item configuration.

Instructions:

1.
sudo vim /usr/share/applications/eclipse.desktop

2.
[Desktop Entry]
Name=Eclipse
GenericName=Java IDE
Comment=IDE for developing applications in Java programming language
Exec=/home/user1/eclipse/eclipse
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Icon=/home/user1/eclipse/eclipse.48×48.png
Categories=Utility;
StartupNotify=true

After the above steps, the Eclipse IDE option appeared in the Unity Dash home menu, showing the icon that I had specified in the configuration file. I afterwards selected “Keep in Launcher” option.

In case you need to follow the above instructions for adding an application to Ubuntu Unity Laucher, don’t hesitate to contact me, if you face any problem!

Good Luck

About sermojohn

Professional Software Engineer
This entry was posted in Linux stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

